Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)

The ADA was signed into law on July 26, 1990, and contained broad protections for disabled Americans in a number of areas. Title III (the focus of this website) covers places of public accommodation (private businesses that serve the general public). The majority of ADA lawsuits by individual disabled persons are brought against private businesses under Title III of the ADA. The Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines (or ADAAG) is the implementing regulation that sets out most (but not all) of the regulations that businesses must follow. There are two versions of the ADAAG in effect, the 1991 version (which can be read here) and the 2010 version (which can be read here). The text of the ADA itself can be read using the following links: 

42 U.S.C. § 12101 - Findings and purpose

42 U.S.C. § 12102 - Definition of disability

42 U.S.C. § 12103 - Auxiliary aids and services

42 U.S.C. § 12181 - Covered private businesses 

42 U.S.C. § 12182 - Prohibited discrimination 

42 U.S.C. § 12183 - New construction

42 U.S.C. § 12184 - Discrimination in transportation

42 U.S.C. § 12187 - Exemptions for clubs and religious organizations

42 U.S.C. § 12188 - Enforcement

Law Offices of Nolan Klein, P.A. serves its clients in multiple jurisdiction throughout the United States. Contact us for specific information about whether we practice law or can assist in your geographic region. Our primary offices are located at 112 W. 34th St., New York, NY and 633 S. Andrews Ave., Ft. Lauderdale, FL. Nolan Klein, Esq. is the lawyer responsible for the content of this website. 

DISCLAIMER: The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing of this information does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship. ATTORNEY ADVERTISING. 


Attorney Nolan Klein | ADA Attorney | Top ADA Lawyer | Americans with Disabilities Act Lawyer